henriettashippo

Vintage Lovin’

Antiques are unique to the modern era, that is why I carry them in my store.  Depending on what era they are from is how they make you feel. The 70’s make you think of bell bottoms peace signs and  Goldie Hawn on laugh in. The 50’s make you think of High Heels, red lipstick, and cocktail hour. This lamp is a vintage 50’s piece, the design is simple and elegant.  The shades are new and a little bit more modern. The combination of the two together is a proper blend of old and new .

Color was used everywhere then, a representation of the time where everything was shiny and new in the suburbs of New York City. This lamp drops you into the set of MadMen or Bewitched in the most wonderful sort of fashion.

 

I fell in love with this the “Doll Sculpture”. The Artist is based in Manhattan, I believe he spends as much time combing the city, and other places finding things to use in his art, as he does actually creating his art. This particular piece is made out of antique tea and biscuit tins. The Doll head and doll legs are from the 1900’s . One of the arms is a antique door handel, a very unique sculpted collage. This piece makes me rem-anise about the time when buying food was a pleasure. Chocolate,  tea and biscuits came in pretty packaging. After you were  done eating the treats you still had the tins. I love the doll as it reminds me of a little girl in black patten  shoes and a pink dress playing with her doll that is dressed as she is.

 

 

Replica soap dishes from the 1920’s. I think of my Grandmother when I look at these dishes. An old county farm house with fresh vegetables in the sink. Homemade cobbler and my Grandmother canning. I decided to carry these in my store, to remind me that life can be so simple, but so gratifying. These will look great anywhere, they are tin and painted white and that creamy mint green from the 1940’s.

With love from my home to yours,

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 12/05/2012 at 8:20 pm. It’s filed under Theme and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Vintage Lovin’

  1. Love that 50s dress!!

  2. I love that lamp! I want! Thanks for checking out Iowa Dog Blog, by the way.

  3. Thanks for checking out our blog!!

    That lamp and dress are very cool! 🙂

    Lots of slobbers,
    Lexi and Jasper the Danes

  4. Some beautiful pieces here. I would love to have one of those soap dishes!

  5. Thanks so much for stopping by my blog

  6. Absoutley I love your blog

  7. Fantastic. I love, love vintage! I’m a thrift lover myself.
    Have to say I got a real soft spot for the soap dishes 🙂

Leave a Reply

