henriettashippo

CATHOLIC ART †


I am drawn to Catholic Art. When I see it I instantly think of Italian Renaissance or the Spanish Inquisition.  Cathedrals that have the high ceilings, the statues and best yet the crosses. That is why I carry Catholic art in the store, and am constantly looking for new pieces. Old world is another thing that comes in mind when I see this specific artwork; it’s history-timeless. The prayer beads are one of my favorites. The artist has taken simple rosary beads, and have made them into oversized art work. Hanging from your bed, or better  yet at your front door, make me feel like I have a little bit of Notre Dame in my home.

There is something very comforting about this art. It is every where in the world. No matter where you go you will see crosses, either around someones neck or hanging on a wall. There is such beauty in the colors that are used. The richness of the gold used and the muted sepia tones as a sign of age. It seems to me that so much passion and love is put in this art, it seems to mean something, gives you a peaceful feeling to have it surround you.

The exaggerated features the weight and feel makes these pieces so unique. I feel like I have just entered a village that is centuries old, the flavor of the country and the feel of the time hits me. It seems to give you the feel of what it was like to live in that time. This is statement art. Whether it be a statue or a painting on the wall, or the cross, it definitely says something. It brings joy to your home.

From my home to yours

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 14/05/2012 at 3:52 am. It’s filed under Theme and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

