henriettashippo

Dreaming of Porches

I love porches. I live in a ski town, that was established in the 1960’s. So porches are not something we have here. We have patios and decks, which are lovely and you can make them a relaxing beautiful space, but they are not porches. Give me a wrap around porch, then kind they had during the civil war, drinking lemonade and Ice tea on, while someone fanned them.

My parents were southern and we used to visit relatives in Missouri. My aunts all lived in those homes with the wrap around porches. We would sit there and snap green beans from the garden, eat tomatoes from the vine like a apple with a salt shaker, and watch fireflies at night.

I love the idea of benches and pretty pillows lamp or two and a pretty run down A homey space where you can relax read a book or have great conversation. When I shop for Henrietta’s Hippo I think of porches or spaces where things will fit, and you never know I just may get my porch yet.

From our home to yours,

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 23/05/2012 at 2:50 am. It’s filed under Theme and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

