henriettashippo

Beauty is in the eye of the Beholder

Italy was wonderful I am so glad I went. What great memories I will have forever bonding with my family. Every where you look whether it was the lake area or the cities  we were surrounded by beauty. I found  it almost overwhelming the history, art, people and country side.

The Italians can make anything gorgeous it amazing me all of the talent present and centuries ago.

I have said before that I am a big fan of Catholic art. I am not religious but spiritual, going into the churches and sitting in the quiet of the Cathedrals is very powerful. This trip was a much different experience than the previous trips. We have always travelled as a family, and since I have just divorced my husband was missing,

I don’t drink anymore and finically it was definitely different. I love to buy art when I travel, not always expensive things but Items that are unique. I must say I was concerned about being on a budget this time but found that it turned out to be the best trip of all.

We found a beautiful vintage shop that carried the most amazing things. Chanel, Valentino all of the European designers. Of course it was out of my price range but so great to look at. I found I enjoyed the beauty of Italy and the art more than when I had been drinking or buying just to buy. I guess I felt more grateful and enjoyed the little things more, especially the GELATO.

Now that is a amazing thing, I believe we ate it every day something I would never have done in the past. So the question  is what is art and what makes it special? Is it because its popular with the masses or name brand? I will be the first to admit I love brand name products give me Chanel sunglasses or a designer bag and I am a happy women but truly art is beauty in the eye of the beholder.

This is a amazing cacti, I smuggled into the country!  What I believe to be beautiful some one else isn’t going to enjoy, it might be to modern or to ornate. What was discovered on this adventure is the small pieces of art that I found in obscure places is what was beautiful and precious art to me. I found this amazing cherub in Rome at this funky store. Check out my darling bobble head, I am so in love!

A reason that Henrietta’s Hippo was born was that I wanted to be able to share and hopefully be able to support myself by  bringing what I consider art and beautiful with the world. When I purchase items to sell I would buy them for my home little things that when I use them or just look at them I can feel happy.

Gifts and things for the home that are just a little different, or unusual is what I consider art, whether its a reed diffusor that isn’t from target, or a item for the kitchen I use daily. Last but not least two things I am especially happy with and grateful. This wine glass was bought years ago Isabella who travelled with me was 9 when I purchased them I no longer drink so I am passing down this art to my daughter so she can enjoy them. I know she loves them and will think of Italy when she drinks her wine.

I found my shoes in my Mama’s color! I am so thrilled.From our home to yours

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 22/08/2012 at 1:29 am. It’s filed under Room Decor, Theme and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

23 thoughts on “Beauty is in the eye of the Beholder

  1. Love the picture of the gelato! The others are beautiful, too, but this one really stands out. Maybe it is all the colors and the blue spoons!

  2. Welcome home!!! I agree – Italians have created a beautiful world full of art, music, pizza, gelato, and sunshine!! Love your shoes…

  3. Oh gosh, I’m so darn jealous!

  4. What a glorious design feast you had! Batteries all charged up now we hope.

  5. I’m glad you had a good time. The pictures are great!

  6. TheBowTieButterFly on said:

    I nominated you for the Beautiful Blogger Award because your pictures and words are so beautiful!! 🙂

  7. Thank you so much for letting me see a little bit of the world I probably won’t be able to see in real life. The pictures are amazing and so are the subjects. 🙂

  8. Thanks for the “follow” on Gardens for Goldens. Love looking at your blog and your shop! All the best, Ogee.

  9. Stunning pictures. So wish I could get to Italy. Definitely going on the bucket list!

  10. A dream of mine is to go to Italy. Reading your post got me one step closer to my dream. Your lovely post about your trip has made me long even more to make my dream a reality. I thank you for that 🙂

  11. Love these photos, they are gorgeous! Went to Italy last year and it was amazing. Definitely the trip of a lifetime!

  12. Magnolia Zaldivar on said:

    Italians are great artist in many ways: music, design,food,architects. The pictures show us a good example, thank you.
    PS your shoes looks confortable!

  13. Susie Evans on said:

    Nice hearing about your trip! Hopefully the divorce is a good thing for you! Let’s keep in touch! Loved remembering your Mom with the shoes! What a nice woman and a sad time in our high school years!

  14. Gorgeous photos! Love Italy!

  15. I love Italy and luckily for me, I now live in Europe so it’s nice and close!
    Your photos are wonderful and I really like the green suit in the vintage shop. I can only imagine who wore it originally, where, when and WHY. : )
    Wendy

Leave a Reply

