henriettashippo

Oh the places you will go.

So I am sitting here thinking about how I am blogging and in April I had absolutely no idea about blogging. When I decided to attempt to open my store Henrietta’s Hippo I was told social media was a must. So I opened my face book account and someone set me up on a blog on google. I had no idea what I was doing and had one follower in six months. My daughter came home from college and read the blog, and her sweet way NOT, said this is pathetic. She proceeded to teach me how to blog. She has a blog and if not mistaken has two thousand followers so I guess she knows what she is talking about. For the first two months she edited inserted photos and taught me how to write and blog. I am no where near the level she is and have much to learn and perfect but I am now blogging on my own and have been nominated for four awards. I am shocked truly cannot believe that I am doing this and people are actually following me and better yet really like my blog. I realize for those who have been doing this for awhile probably can’t understand the significance of this. I was married for twenty two years when I divorced. I guess you can say that I was in a abusive marriage as I was told that I couldn’t do anything on my own and basically stupid. After awhile you start to believe what is told over and over and become fearful to leave or attempt to accomplish anything on your own. I finally left, got sober and here I am one year later paying my bills, raising my children and blogging. None of this has been easy but I am more confident and truly happy in years. I am starting to learn that if I am tenacious enough I can do anything and will be successful.

Clanmother  Has nominated me for theVery Inspiring Blogger award. I am very honored. I very much appreciate what she says on her profile. Blogger, photographer and Life-Long learner. I to want to be a life long learner, continue to grow and enjoy life while I am doing this. If I have inspired her than I am truly accomplishing something.

TheBowtieButterfly   Has nominated me for Beautiful blogger award. How amazing is this! It really thrills me that my blog is considered beautiful. Most times when I post pictures I’m not sure if they are appropriate for the content or even interesting. But this award makes me feel like I am doing it right, and other people see the beauty in some of the same things I do.

Jessica at I adopted a dog now what Nominated me for the Kreativ Blogger Award.   When she notified me she said that she liked how I incorporated my dogs into my blog. I needed to hear this as I feel vindicated my daughter is always giving me grief for inserting photos of my dogs. She claims they have no place in the blog as its about home decor, I disagree as they are one of my biggest support in life. I adore dogs I love other peoples dogs and love to talk and show mine off! Thank You Jessica!!!I am going to take my time into deciding who I am going to pass these awards onto as I consider them a great honor.  So Jessica this picture is for you Thank you again for the award. Ferris and Baloo are honored to!

From our home to yours

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 23/08/2012 at 3:16 am. It’s filed under Room Decor, Theme and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

20 thoughts on “Oh the places you will go.

  1. Will and Eko on said:

    Congrats, keep up the good work!

  2. Congratulations, like your blog very much!!!

  3. Well done on all fronts! Getting out of the abusive marriage being the step that has led to everything else 😉

  4. Congratulations! So pleased to hear that everything is going so well. And I for one am always pleased to see doggy pics in your posts:-)

  5. Congratulations on your awards!
    Even more importantly – congratulations on changing your life and starting new things.
    Those dogs are gorgeous!

  6. You have done so well; congratulations! Just wanted to stop by and say thank you for checking out my blog. I hope you enjoy reading my posts as much as I have enjoyed reading yours!

  7. Congratulations. You deserve it! Is your doggy on the right a St. Bernard or Berenese Mountain Dog? I love big dogs!!!!!

  8. CONGRATS on your awards!!!!!!! What an adorable cuddly dog!

  9. Yipee! Congratulations! Not just for the award but for taking such huge, positive steps in your life. I’m really proud of you and I love the dogs!!!

  10. Congratulations for stepping into your sovereign power, letting your light shine and receiving such beautiful awards! Much love! 🙂

  11. Thank you for checking out my blog. I think you havve accomplished so much to be proud of yourself. I kinda know what it means to be divorced after such a long time, just went through that.So it feels to experience what w are capable of and to even more things.Loved this post of yours, thank you for sharing!

  12. changeforbetterme on said:

    Congrats on the awards! They are super awesome to receive aren’t they? I love the dogs!! Keep on doing what you are doing. I’ve been lurking around and like what I see!

  13. thank you for the like – I love your shop name and look forward to exploring further!

  14. Congratulations! Here’s to many more awards!! 🙂

  15. Thank you so much for accepting my nomination! You and I began blogging at about the same time – my launch date “into the wild” was May 1, 2012. I had been given it considerable thought for the past two years as I saw the rise of social media gain momentum. We live in a fast paced, ever changing mercurial world that demands our full participation, no matter what stage we find ourselves! My observation of blogging is that we have a more sophisticated technology that allows us to communicate over a broader community. And yet, the same principals of dialogue are in play – kindness, empathy, dignity, debate and challenge. What is most gratifying is that I get to meet kindred spirits, like yourself, along the way. We have a lot of adventuring left to do….

  16. How did I catch this post so late? Thank you so much for the mention…and for the lovely pic of you and your gentle giants! They are ADORABLE!!
    To incorporate more than one love as seamlessly as you do is a lot harder than it looks! Congratulations on all of your success!

Leave a Reply

