henriettashippo

One room at a time

First of all I want to apologize about my photos not appearing in two of my posts. I am not sure how to fix it, contacted word-press support hopefully get answers soon. So as I have written before my house has been on the market I packed up everything painted and have only gotten low ball offers. My youngest daughter started high school so I have decided not to sell and wait it out. I really felt let down about not moving, but since I have no control I am going to make the best of it. My house was remolded 15 years ago and is starting to show its age, I must say its aging gracefully, but it needs a lift. So I have decided I have 3 years to go so I am going to take one room at a time and fix it up. I feel like I will be happier and so will the house if I start getting motivated and work on it plus it might help when I go to sell it. I have decided to start up stairs in the bathroom.

When I did this bathroom the kids were small so now I am going to make it more adult. As you can see the floors and tile are very outdated. I thought I would work around the bathtub sink and cabinets.  So basically re- tile and  and maybe put some wainscoting on the walls.

I really like this wainscoting but it might be to expensive I might need to go simpler.  Tumbled marble tile on the top of the sink and in the bathtub area. I am going to make my self go neutral which is not my style although better for resale.

Stenciling the ceiling seems like a cost effective way of making the bathroom unique without going crazy.By changing out the faucets and light fixtures they will update the bathroom considerably.And of course when its all said and done I will place some art from Henrietta’s Hippo to pull it all together!

A set of Italian crowns can’t you just envision how elegant it will look with these?

Of course a set of reed diffusors that are a piece of art that is working while looking beautiful. Add a vintage inspired soap dish for a measly $12.00 which is going to make a statement only a soap dish like this can!

And last but not least a Pink Elephant from Sugar boo designs because who wants a boring bathroom and I am on my way!

From our home to yours

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 09/09/2012 at 11:39 pm. It’s filed under Color, Lighting, Room Decor, Theme, Uncategorized, Wall Decor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “One room at a time

  1. changeforbetterme on said:

    they are all great ideas! For the wainscoting you might look for places that have either used or new but discounted building materials. Or if you have a habitat for humanity store in your area you might look there. Sometimes you might be surprised at what they carry! My ex and I used to do remodeling for a living. Also, for the wainscoting look you might think about flooring. You can find some that looks great as a wainscoting but no one has to know it started out as flooring. You use the flooring and then add crown molding. Cheap but looks great!

  2. Your bathroom look very grown-up now! Beautiful!

  3. Sayantika Adak Ghosh on said:

    I really admire the fact that you have the patience to add these beautiful details on your blog… it really inspires me and I just might steal a few ideas when I finally own a house…

  4. You really are amazing…

Leave a Reply

