henriettashippo

Knocked Kneed

In my earlier posts I have written often and snuck a couple pictures in here and there of my baby baloo. Baloo is a special dog not that all of my dogs aren’t special but he is exceptional.

We bought baloo right after my husband and I seperated. My kids were very upset which is natural and I was full blown in my disease. At the time we had another newfie named Nana and of course ferris the St. Bernard who is still with us.

My ex-husband made the statement once that if I ever got another dog he was going to leave, so I purchased another dog. When I told the kids we could get another dog they wanted a chocolate newfoundland we don’t call him bronze we say chocolate.

We did our reasearch and found blusie (his nick name among others) in upstate New York from a reputable breeder.  When baloo came via cargo with United my girls were beside themselves I to was excited. He was this chocolate baby with huge paws and weighed 22lbs at eight weeks. We nicked named him the divorce dog it seemed appropriate. After a week or so we noticed that blusie walked funny his hocks were turned in and his hind end was white.

I was using a  veterinarian  at the time that was holistic and she said something about his adrenaline glands  not working and that it was probably crowded in the womb but nothing was said about him being ill or that there was something to be concerned about. Fast forward baloo started shaking his rear legs and his front and as he got older the worse the shaking got. I eventually took him to Fort Collins which is the leading veterinarian school. They told me he has wobblers disease, which means he has limited feeling in his rear area. Poor boy has a hard time getting up we lift him, and he cannot run or really walk well. The surgery for wobblers is 10,000.00 dollars and no guarantee.

Ok so another sick dog. God gives me the sick dogs because he knows I will take care of them. Well baloo just hurt his knee which is a given as he weighs 180lbs and his knees have to take the brunt of his weight because he is so weak in his hind area. I took him to the surgeon and he explained that both knees are blown and he needs surgery on both.

One at a time of course but about three months apart. I want to go on the record as saying I am discouraged I can’t afford to repair both of baloo’s knees, but then can’t afford not to. Sometimes it feels very overwhelming this life if mine. I am going to allow my self to wallow in my misery for at least two hours and then pick up and move on. But for the next two hours

I am going to worry, fret and stress about what is occuring. I realize life is hard for all of us some more than others its how we handle it. I am grateful that I have baloo in my life.

From our home to yours,

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 13/09/2012 at 10:04 pm. It’s filed under Theme, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “Knocked Kneed

  1. He is soooooooooooooooo cute!!! Do you follow the blog My Brown Newfies? If not, you should! She has two Newfies!! I just LOVE your dog!

  2. Beautiful dog, and I know the feeling of being faced with expensive orthopedic surgeries (sigh).

  3. Oh boy, I know just how you feel and I’m so sorry about your sweet pup. I’m trying to learn that there’s only so much we can do sometimes but it’s not easy. Glad that the two of you have each other!

  4. I was just reading from my favourite author tonight and thought of one of his quotes when I was reading about baloo – “Courage is found in unlikely places.” J. R. R. Tolkien. We are lucky to have our four legged friends for they give us courage when we need it most.

  5. He is a great big gorgeous lump!

  6. Nice to meet you Baloo. So sorry you are battling so much with your knees and wobblers. Glad he found your home, where you will do whatever you can to help. Sorry to laugh at this point but getting a dog to get ex to move out was rather funny 🙂 Thank you for doing what you can for this gorgeous dog!

  7. He is beautiful. I’m sorry he has health problems.

  8. Newfie pictures make every day better. I’m sorry to hear of his knee problems, but I bet he thinks more about how much he loves his mom than how bad his knees feel. You’re both very lucky and dogs are SO much better than any ex!!

  9. Thanks for following my blog. Baloo is so wonderful.Wishing him the best with his knees.I have a blog with links to great veterinary aid covering most surgeries and illnesses.Please take a look.Baloo may be able to get free surgery or surgery at a much reduced cost.
    Have a great weekend.
    Woof!!

Leave a Reply

