henriettashippo

My kind of bling

I have been told I have unusual taste but it works. I know that my art work lends itself  to out of the ordinary.  It has taken along time for me to come into my own and start trusting myself.

I believe that it happened when I turned 40 I started embracing my style instead of trying to be different.Black wood prayer beads. Sterling Hijas de Maria medal. Bronze St. Benedict center, and crucifix. Sterling chain and brass clasp. This necklace looks great with white button down blouse and jeans.

Made with grey freshwater pearls. Features sterling Lotus center, Circle of Antiquity, Framed Cross, and Mary medal. Bronze Maltese cross, recast vintage medal, and African cross. Sterling wire and toggle clasp. These two necklaces look great together or separately. Each piece has it’s own story.

I like things with a twist whether it be a color you wouldn’t normally use in a living space or a lamp that you won’t find just anywhere. I am not Catholic but I love Catholic art. South Park is one of my favorite shows and sarcasm makes me laugh. When it comes to decorating I am drawn to oversized furniture and accessories. A good friend of mine is always saying I like things made my real people and made well. Recast American Coin in Bronze features a beautiful image of Lady Liberty. Sterling ring band, base, and bezel. Ring face measures 1 7/8″ across at the widest part. All sizes available. Every ring is handmade and cut to order.

Items that are made with intricate metal work, hand painted expressing the artist’s personality. When shopping for Henrietta’s Hippo I have tried to purchase things that I think will sell but find in the end I can only buy things that I really love and hope someone else will also. I found an artist whose jewelry is amazing. Not the kind of art work you would ever find in a mall store but in a gallery someplace that is obscure. This ring features a bronze Star of David. Sterling ring band, base, and bezel.

When I met her at a show I found that her work reflected her personality she has so much talent. Shannon Koszyk lives in Seattle Washington  she designs jewelry and some home items such as candles and lighting. Her work is unique as she uses old coins, crosses and rosaries in her collection. Sterling silver double-sided Pierced Heart medals and grey freshwater pearls on 14kt gold chain and 14k gold ear wires.

Each piece is handmade it can be worn everyday or can be worn in the evening to a cocktail party. When purchasing a piece you are truly buying art something you will have for a life time and maybe pass down. Sterling silver Mary rosary centers, grey freshwater pearls and sterling silver bead caps on sterling ear wires.

Each piece is quality design  and unique. Oversized pieces that can be worn together or worn with something smaller and more fragile. Her jewelry is defiantly my kind of bling.White bone Tibetan prayer beads adorned with a sterling back off Satan medal. Sterling clasp and wire.

When I wear her work I get so many comments and compliments. It’s so different that it stands out in a understated way. Each piece is meant to be worn and cherished. Solid sterling re-cast British South Africa Coins finished with a hidden sterling clasp.

t.

From our home to yours,

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 08/10/2012 at 4:34 am. It’s filed under Theme and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “My kind of bling

  1. Absolutely stunning – I have always appreciated symbolism and deeper meanings in the jewelry I wear.

  2. A very talented designer.

  3. I just love your style. So glad you’ve learnt to go with it and not be influenced by others. Adore that first necklace – just gorgeous

  4. Beautiful!

  5. Gnovember on said:

    Very unique and beautiful

Leave a Reply

