henriettashippo

Southern comfort

Back to the grindstone so they say but I had the best time on my jaunt to the South. What a fabulous time to be there the weather was perfect. After leaving  Greenville we took the back way towards Gainesville via this small town Laconia there I cruised some antique shops and I scored!!

I love the old tea cups and the tins I found them in a small town in Georgia one is a old maxwell coffe tin, another a Prince Albert tabacco can, lions syrup and southern mints. My girlfriend lives in a old home in Minturn Colorado in was built in the late 1800’s a miner probably lived there. She needs help decorating so we are going to start a shabby chic table for her  its going to be hard to decide which ones to give to her. I found the most amazing vintage set of Vietnamese utensils  the guess is they were made late 1940’s to 1950’s.

The set is a serving for 8 plus a serving spoon, fork, knife, and gravy ladle the handles are teak and the metal is brass which has aged into a really pretty coppery brown, best of all each piece has a buddha statue engraved onto the end of the handles.

 The antique dealer said each piece was smuggled into the U.S. during the Vietnam war one piece at a time. It was illegal to bring goods in from Vietnam but the family wanted this heirloom with them.

My favorite is they are stored in a wood box inlaid with red felt. The set is complete It would look beautiful on the shabby chic table but I have decided to sell it on my web-site. Can’t you just see the shabby chic table? I know I gained weight while traveling in the South which isn’t hard to do as the food is marvelous we had lunch at a adorable diner in Gainesville GA, my kind of food chili hotdogs with cheese and onions on a toasted bun. And a diet coke with a lot of lemon!!

The Collegiate Grill has been in Gainesville since 1847 if you are ever there treat yourself to some absolutely wonderful food. This is Allen he is the master chef who prepared our gourmet meal.

The girls who made us hand dipped home made strawberry milkshakes. Heaven the sugar goes straight to the vein. Such nice people and such great food. Brenda’s home fashion is going out of business not because business is bad but because they are retiring its for sale maybe I should purchase this store and save money on a sign. From our home to yours,

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 27/10/2012 at 3:11 am. It’s filed under Room Decor, Theme and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Southern comfort

  1. Whether you are in Italy or in South Carolina – you have amazingly wonderful adventures. It is always fun to tag along…

  2. love the plants in the teacups! Too clever!

  3. I really enjoyed reading your posts on facebook!

  4. Oh, I love those old teacups.

  5. Enjoyed the trip; Thank You…
    I know that you were talking more about the containers however; I love wax plants…!
    Love that sign! Y’all stay well now…!

  6. so awesome and creative! and i love succulents, to boot!

Leave a Reply

