henriettashippo

Welcome to Salida

I went on a art adventure yesterday to Salida Colorado. Salida is an hour and a half from Vail and it feels as if you are in a different world well you are in a different world.

As we all know Vail is the playground for the rich and famous we have art, fur coats, skiing, and a over abundance of t-shirt shops. Adorable coffee shop in Salida if you don’t know I am a coffee addict.

We have beautiful art galleries which feature one of a kind paintings, unique metal sculptures of animals and some beautiful furniture stores but alas its not my kind of art.

This amazing work was done by the local “Stoner” he recently passed away but the story told is he was a wino and stoner and only sold his work if he had to support his habits. The pictures don’t really show the amazing details of his work he was a genius the smithsonian asked him to donate a piece he declined but said they could purchase a piece from him.
I decided yesterday to take a little road trip to Salida Colorado which sits about 40 miles from one of Colorado’s many prisons. I had been there around 10 years ago and could tell they were trying to renovate the town piece by piece. I am not sure that Salida is a destination or just one of those small towns you drive through on your way skiing or mountain biking but it was my destination yesterday. Art in front of the day care!

I was so amazed when I arrived the historic district has been revamped and business seems to be growing but also thriving one of the owners of a gallery told me with great pride that Salida had just been designated the art district of Colorado. This piece is mixed media by Mary Crown she is a local I love the birds and colors I would place it in a bathroom or in a sunroom.

Everywhere you go whether it be the coffee shop or restaurants there is art. Several vintage stores are in place and the locals show their art there also. I found this adorable bird cage which I am going to paint white and use in my shabby chic corner I don’t want to call it old or vintage but it is from 1970 which makes me feel old and vintage.

Prices are fairly good for original art you can find some great bargins and stories. Everyone is so friendly and ready to share what life is like in Salida or stories about the artists themselves. And of course my cake topper a souvenir from Wisconsin a vintage tea cup probably late 1800’s the woman who sold it to me remarked several times the beauty of the tea cup and art work. I so agree I wish I knew who bought it and how hard it was to get home without being damaged. Its from Dousman Wis. its definitely a Dutch pattern.


I am not sure if you have noticed while out shopping but owls are huge this year. I saw some very unique owl halloween decorations, but these planters are magnificent.

They are colorful I of course would put cacti in them but a potted plant or flower would be perfect, on of course your shabby chic table. One of my favorite pieces its’s not expensive and such a beautiful way to store your keys or light weight sweaters, and of course a few embellishments. Rustic metal painted in a cream shabby chic paint with a sweet bird and flowers.These little birds are constructed from paper and felt they are so versatile. The details and the colors are amazing. I am going to put a few in my bird cage but really they can be placed anywhere in potted plants, window sills the possibilities are endless.

From our home to yours,

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 16/11/2012 at 1:07 am. It’s filed under Color, Lighting, Room Decor, Uncategorized, Wall Decor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

19 thoughts on “Welcome to Salida

  1. JackieP on said:

    well wordpress must be messing with you again. the pictures didn’t show up! sorry 😦

  2. Great Blog! Thank you for following our rescue.

  3. thanks alot for being my blog follower…its awesome to have you as follower 🙂

  4. Do you sell these items in your store? (owl planters for example)

  5. Thanks for sharing about Salida. Vail is better known but it’s nice to know about other parts of Colorado.

  6. wow what cool stuff!

  7. There are some fascinating items there!

  8. Lucianna on said:

    Great items! I will definitely visit the shop! I love all things vintage. I travel a lot and collect vintage items. I found a big concentration of good quality and accessible vintage shops in Toronto! It is becoming a highlight of this city! It should be on the list of to be visited places of everyone who loves vintage and antique goods.

  9. TheBowTieButterFly on said:

    I’ve nominated you for the “very inspiring blogger award” 🙂 http://thebowtiebutterfly.com/2012/11/24/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

  10. Thanks for visiting Hanging with Dead Guys feel free to drop by and let me know what you think. Your support is appreciated. ~HWDG

  11. Thank you so much for stopping by http://www.domesticingenuity.com. I love the vintage tea cup and saucer! Great pictures!
    Chelsey

  12. Thanks for liking my blog. Have a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

