henriettashippo

Dopamine high

Often at night when I am starting to doze off feeling the crisp and cool sheets I envision the house I will live in with the wrap around porch and my home store down the street with my dogs laying  peacefully and greeting people as they come in.  If you have a vision of something you want to achieve run the image through your mind daily and it will happen and I know this is true.Screen shot 2013-01-10 at 11.28.47 PM

When I went to treatment it was explained that I had rewired the dopamine levels in the brain and that it could take anywhere from 1-5 years for my body to repair it’s self. I use the term flat nothing made me feel happy I wasn’t necessarily unhappy either I felt nothing. In the last 3 months I have started feeling again. I believe my dopamine levels are becoming normal again a good way to describe it is a natural high. When I drank my body received such a dopamine high from the wine that nothing else could cause the same effect, now that I have been sober awhile other things are giving me the dopamine high.IMG_0471

I had the day off so I worked on my shabby chic table, I really don’t remember the last time I have felt so “high” from something so menial. I have envisioned how my table will look in the corner with the sun coming through the window. I have completed my table now I get to add and subtract vintage items, art and plants. Having this project has helped me stay inspired and excited about Henrietta’s Hippo I put a few pieces on the table  I am going to play with it see where it takes me that is what gives me the high  I got these wonderful globes for christmas I am going to hang them in my bay window.Screen shot 2012-07-15 at 6.57.01 PM

I am going to New York at the end of the month for a buying trip I am so excited for the adventure Henrietta’s Hippo is a true blessing for me it has given me hope and something else to envision lets see where this takes me.

From our home to yours,

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 11/01/2013 at 6:47 am. It’s filed under Color, Room Decor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

14 thoughts on “Dopamine high

  1. Congratulations. I have a huge amount of respect for you, having made it this far. I love your dream and could think of pretty much nothing better than a house with a wrap around porch and dogs laying at my feet.

  2. Great aspirations and you’re building the dream, bit by bit. Looking super.

  3. your positivity is inspiring! I would love to have a house with a wrap around porch someday too! 🙂

  4. I hope you get to live in your dream house with the wrap around porch one day soon. Love those hanging plant globes – can just see them catching the light in a bay window.

  5. I agree with you about believing in things and thinking about them and they will come true. HGTV is MY “Dream Board”

  6. I like this globes, they are just great!!! Have a wonderful time in NY.

  7. Playing at the table, for me, is the key here. Sometimes, in doing something “unproductive,” we get the juices flowing again. I find the same thing in writing poetry — and have come to value those times when nothing seems to be happening.
    The dream of the porch also stirs the recognition that a lot of other factors get put into motion here. I see a lot of porches, for instance, that are for show only. They’re too narrow to sit on, much less have a table. Then there’s wind and flies and … well, I’d add screened-in to the dream. Still, you may find the porch evolving in its own direction, with its own surprises. For us, it was what we call the Smoking Garden, a kind of patio next to the barn. And, yes, we still dream of adding a three-season porch off the dining room and kitchen. (With a hot tub.)
    By the way, your photos reminded me of several objects I’d been meaning to shoot. And now that that’s done, I, too, am happy.

  8. Congratulations on your progress!
    I love those plant globes.

  9. Wonderful to hear about the joy you’re finding in things, a good reminder for all of us. And enjoy your time in New York!

  10. I’m glad that you have found some pleasure in the simple things. I too believe in envisioning what you want. I swear it works. Have a good weekend. xDoris

  11. My dear friend, I receive a dopamine high every time I stop by for a visit!!! I have found that the simple tasks give me the feeling of belonging. Making a cup of tea, walking in the rain, even purging a closet of unnecessary stuff…

  12. Reblogged this on Xoxohall's Blog and commented:
    This works for me.

  13. Keep going and so much will surprise and delight. Carpe diem! Love the globes with air plants.

Leave a Reply

