henriettashippo

The ninth step

IMG_0490I know this blog is about home decor and yes we will get to the fun part in a moment but today has been amazing and I want to post about it. The ninth step in AA is the scariest for most of us  one being admitting you are powerless over alcohol. When you are in the darkest part of your disease you cease to care about your behavior and how you treat other people. Alcoholism is a selfish and narcissistic disease the only thing you think about is your next  drink.IMG_0485

The ninth step is the step of amends you make a list of the people you have harmed and make amends to them. When I decided to get sober this step terrified me I was adamant that AA wasn’t for me solely so I could avoid the ninth step.  IMG_0487

I went and got my hair done today which is my most favorite thing to do I believe hair color is miracle. I am not sure that I have posted that I owned a hair salon in my previous life. I loved the salon but most of all I loved my business partner Dena she and I would laugh for days. Dena and I have not been in touch for a few years as I could not or would not admit that I was very sick and she could no longer stay in business with me or enable me by being my friend. Turquoise window treatments and exposed black piping inspires me.Moroccan printed wall paper in black and white with a green striped zebra print carpet with black and white striped wall paper add the Alice in wonderland door knob it all works together to make a unique working space.IMG_0486

Dena was the first person I made a amends to when I started my ninth step. I believe I had more guilt, remorse and sorrow over how I treated her and destroyed our friendship. When I spoke to her and asked for forgiveness it was if I had never done anything wrong her acceptance and kindness helped me to complete the step with confidence and without fear.IMG_0492

Salon Azara has good energy a combination of whimsical and class a wonderful place to sit and renew yourself not only do you come out  looking beautiful but you feel so alive and happy while you are there. Dena has created the perfect space for herself and her clients I must say I am so proud of her she works so hard and has achieved so much in her young life she is truly a inspiration for how you should and strive to be. If you are in Vail Colorado look Dena up 949-1180 you won’t regret it!!

p.s. a little foot note from my life:IMG_0483NAP TIME AT THE ZOO

From our home to yours,

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 19/01/2013 at 4:50 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

14 thoughts on “The ninth step

  1. The turquoise and the black looks gorgeous !!! Have a wonderful weekend ;o)

  2. awesome! congrats on your sobriety. as a former heroin addict i understand what you are talking about.

  3. Forgiveness is wonderful — on both sides. Kudos to you!

  4. What a wonderful life-affirming validation for the power of friendship. I feel like singing every time I stop by for a visit!

  5. Congratulations on taking the very difficult ninth step. So glad that you were forgiven as well.

  6. misswhiplash on said:

    one courageous lady who deserves a good round of applause! Clap! clap! clap! x100000. Take one day at a time ,take each day as it comes, don’t look back to the past. the future is where you are going

  7. Good luck with your journey – eyes forward and one step at a time. Give those dogs a scratch behind the ear for me. Waldo wants to know how the littlest dog is always the one that ends up on bed?! Always!

  8. Nice blog. I love the fact that you love dogs. I am a big dog lover myself. I saw you visiting one of my blogs (News, Views, and Gurus) and wanted to meet you. Thanks for dropping in.

    I have not been as conscientious about posting there as I might be and resolve to post at least once a month, aiming for twice a month. Thanks also for being patient with me.

    My other blog is FantasyFic and is for writers and readers. I have a couple of stories on there about dogs. If you are a softie, don’t read the first one (an excerpt in the first post about “Raw Emotion”) because it will make you cry. The other story is a flash fiction, but you have to read it to understand the whole thing 😉 Search the site for “Goodbye, Dolly, My Love.” 😀

  9. I truly enjoy your blog and have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Bloggers Award, please see the details at: http://oilpastelsbymary.com/

  10. How great that you can be friends again!
    I couldn’t help noticing that the smallest dog has the largest bed.

  11. You’ve made me cry over the incredible power of friendship and forgiveness. Have a beautiful day!

  12. Hello- I just wanted to stop by & let you know that I nominated your work for “Blog of the Year 2012!” More details can be found here: http://arcanearrangements.com/2013/01/25/blog-of-the-year-2012-part-two/ Keep up the great work & enjoy the day! 🙂

  13. Bravo to you. Brave & courageous. Congratulations on the ninth step.

Leave a Reply

