henriettashippo

Wishing it all away

When I was in rehab which is probably one of the most significant things I have ever done they spoke to us about living in the moment. It seems that wishing our life  away is an Alcoholic trate. I find myself doing this without even realizing that it is happening. My oldest daughter Isabella has left for Eastern Europe she was delayed almost a month and a half due to her broken leg. It has been a hard two months as she was in so much pain and frustrated rightly so. She is off on her life adventure following her passion, throughly enjoying life. Isabella is embracing her life and not wishing it away.Screen shot 2013-02-20 at 9.18.47 PM

My daughter Remi she tends to be more like me. Worries a lot about things that are  out of her control and continually looking at tomorrow for her happiness. She certainly gets it more than I did at her age or maybe even today.  The problem with not living in the present  is fear I can work myself into such anxiety about what will or will not happen  which happens to be another Alcoholic trate. I believe my whole life I have self medicated not to live in the moment. After a couple of years of sobriety I am finally learning to to truly appreciate now the little things a quite at the house  when every one is at work and I am with my dogs. Living in the present teaches us that life isn’t easy you have to work hard for it but man its worth it. So when I live in fear about my business or when will I get my brick and mortar store I need to remind my self to be grateful for what I have today.Screen shot 2013-02-20 at 9.17.26 PM

I found some wonderful functional art for  Henrietta’s Hippo these funky artstic matches in New York I love this kinda of stuff great if you smoke, love candles, or if you want to treat your self or someone else to something so fun. One more thing about these matches they are reusable just refill the box with matches, they are colored dipped so intricate detail and sturdy.Screen shot 2013-02-20 at 9.21.51 PM I know I know this is a home decor blog but I have to post a picture of Mae Mae Daisy Mae and Baloo sharing “Baloo’s” bed.IMG_0527From our home to yours,

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 21/02/2013 at 5:25 am. It’s filed under Color, Room Decor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Wishing it all away

  1. I agree – wishing away life is not the way to go. Every moment counts!

  2. Glad to hear you are learning to appreciate the moment you are in. Love the dogs – well, obviously 😉

  3. I agree – absolutely – thanks for this post ;o)

  4. I don’t think wishing your life away is just an alcoholic’s trait; we all do it. And sometimes it’s a daily struggle just to be thankful for today. I’m glad you’re working on it as well…

  5. It is so true that we need to live for each day, not worrying about tomorrow. And I agree with Apple Hill Cottage – it’s not only an alcoholic’s trait! Your blog reminds me of the joke…”How do you eat an elephant?” “One bite at a time”. When life seems too big and scary, take it one moment at a time!

  6. I totally agree with you. But even as someone who is not an alcoholic, I find myself wishing things away. It happens to the best of us, it’s how you deal with it that matters. xD

  7. Some inspiring insights – thanks.

Leave a Reply

