henriettashippo

Signs of wisdom and art

I woke up today with a large black cloud over my head. I don’t  feel grateful, happy or content. What I realize is that this is not something that I should expect all of these “gifts” are something you have to earn and work for. Maybe it’s because it’s March in the mountains, sun one day snow another or the best yet mud which my dogs walk through, dig in and spread all over the house and car. Or another reason which I am sure anyone with children or better yet teenagers can relate to is my fifteen year old daughter who has not learned that verbalizing every discomfort in her life is not  appropriate. I know things are bad when I don’t feel like knitting.IMG_0563

So I recognize where I am emotionally now lets talk about what to do or better yet not what to do. First I will not take my frustrations out on other people like my ex-husband who replied when I texted him he could not help today with Remi’s upbringing as he was flying to Florida to be with his girlfriend and he is sorry isn’t available. I will not list all of  my grievances when asked “how are you today”? I will not yell at my dogs. I will not drink. My oldest daughter bought me this card when I was 3 months sober and I was going through hell, this will be hanging on my wall.Screen shot 2013-03-21 at 8.09.43 PMScreen shot 2013-03-21 at 8.30.32 PM

I have some wonderful art that I am carrying in Henrietta’s little reminders to feel grateful and happy. Signs of wisdom they are called the words are simple but hold incredible meaning, words we forget to repeat every day. ” My  mom did the best she could.”Also signs of art because what a better way to pull yourself out of a deep funk than some wonderful art to make you smile. These pieces will make great gifts for friends or little reminders for yourself. They come framed in glass and a cream silk ribbon for hanging. Coming soon to henriettashippo.comScreen shot 2013-03-21 at 8.35.09 PMScreen shot 2013-03-21 at 8.39.24 PMFrom our home to yours,

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 22/03/2013 at 3:00 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Signs of wisdom and art

  1. I love the card!!! We (mother’s) do the best that we can!

  2. Hope something turns up to bring you cheer. Real Spring would help!

  3. I had a dear friend who used to say “you do what you think is right at the time” and it always made me feel better. She was one of the best friends I’ve ever had, she was 94! I agree that art is uplifting. The other thing that often can help is to consider someone else’s plight that’s clearly worse than your own, always helps to crank up the gratefulness. Have a great weekend!

  4. Yes. All those things — gratefulness, happiness, contentment — they don’t come easy. But what kind of people would we be, if they did? Or more importantly, if they came easily, we wouldn’t appreciate them! Hang that art on the wall — my mom did the best she could.
    Can’t wait for “coming soon…”

Leave a Reply

