henriettashippo

Home depot… oh and don’t forget Ikea!

I want to start out by apologizing I have been in a blogging slump there are  pictures and notes on what to write but they have just sat there unnoticed. I have chosen wisely or not to allow myself to feel this way, not panic just go with the one day at a time motto. Sobriety allows me to feel all kinds of things good or bad to be patient, life is a journey accept it.  I am travelling back and forth to Salt Lake City as my sister is very ill with cancer. Vail is only six hours from SLC so I drive with the baby bulldog in the front seat as my co-pilot the trip gives me time to think.  After returning home from treatment life has been put one foot in front of the other kind of thing. But somehow the fog is starting to lift slightly I am starting to get excited about a few things maybe even enjoy my self somewhat.IMG_0698

Since my house didn’t sell last year  I made the decision to wait for my daughter to graduate from high school. I feel calmer not in such a hurry to make things happen. Funny enough things work out maybe not the way you want or planned but if you have faith they work out for the better. Heads up Ikea has amazing cacti for very little money and they are robust and so pretty.IMG_0705

IMG_0704My boiler is old and failing so I made the painful decision to replace it who wants to do that?? Potential buyers don’t get as excited about brand new boilers as they do bathrooms and kitchens ( the women at least don’t) but hopefully I will have a husband that falls in love with my state of the art boiler room.

IMG_0699 I have posted about Johan my South African roommate but what I didn’t tell you is he loves to work on houses it gives him a sense of accomplishment. By all means I want Johan to be happy so he is doing great things to the house. First Remi’s room has been painted (by Johan) and he and I went to Ikea for furnishings also for her room.IMG_0702

I pushed the cart and he shopped she is absolutely in love with her room and so am I. Second the garage has never been painted or really cleaned correctly the ex husband didn’t do handy work but hired incompetent people for less money need I say more.

My garage has been transformed from a junk pit to bright sparkling and new.Everything has been removed thrown away if necessary and painted!!! My garage has paintIMG_0690

I can’t believe it even on the floor shelves are coming and I am in love. This is going to be amazing for resale and for my state of mind. I am now motivated to plant flowers spruce the house up and tackle the bathrooms. I posted earlier this year about bathroom renovations, I remember writing that post and thinking that it really needed to be done to my home but I could not wrap my head around the work it would involve.The bathrooms are being remolded when the boiler gets done. My summer it seems will be long enjoyable trips to home depot and Ikea instead of Europe or Mexico.

One year today I started blogging what a gift it has been.

From our home to yours,

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 14/05/2013 at 2:35 am. It’s filed under Color, Lighting, Room Decor, Theme, Wall Decor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Home depot… oh and don’t forget Ikea!

  1. So glad you’re back. Just today, I thought of you and hoped everything was okay. And Remi’s room is gorgeous! Love the color on the wall with the rug!

  2. Great to catch up on all of your exciting events. Love what you are doing to your home!! My thoughts are with your sister…

  3. Wow – lots going on in your life. The clearing out and decoration must have given you a real lift. You can enjoy it all until you sell now. Lovely!

  4. You are back – great! I love Remi’s room – it looks fabulous! My thoughts are with you and your sister.

  5. So sorry to hear about your sister but well done on everything else you are getting done. Glad to hear that Johan likes doing the DIY stuff. Everything is looking fantastic

  6. Wonderful work on all sides! Congratulations on your one year anniversary!

  7. Congratulations on your first anniversary!
    I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a clean and tidy garage!
    Best wishes to your sister.

Leave a Reply

