henriettashippo

My mama’s color & Shine on award

I have been blessed to be nominated the Shine On Award. I feel that it is a very honorable and noble award. http://havehest.wordpress.com. From reading Ann’s blog it is evident she is concerned with our world’s health and the animals that live among us. I feel honored that such an award is passed on to me. I am truly an animal lover and spend much time and money helping my furry friends. Thank you so much Ann.

Ann Novek–With the Sky as the Ceiling and the Heart Outdoors

Rules for accepting the award:

  • Add the award logo to your blog.
  • Share seven things about yourself.
  • Nominate 10 – 15 bloggers, and link to them, and tell them about their nomination.
  • Screen shot 2013-05-29 at 12.52.47 PM

1. My favorite thing about living in Vail is the open space to walk my dogs.

2. With the exception of Daisy the bulldog all of my dogs have weighed between 120-200 lbs.

3. I have been sober for 2 years and 6 months.

4. Henrietta’s Hippo is a home decor website

5. I have issues with authority

6. I don’t understand “surrendering an animal”

7. Michael Vick is still playing football?

8.Newfoundlands are my favorite dog breed

9. I am very grateful for my life

10. Montana and Idaho disgust and appall me for the treatment of the grey wolf.

11, It takes me awhile to complete the nomination process I promise to do so!!!!!

I wrote a post previously on my Mama’s color the cool mint green that is so popular. My memories of my mother are scattered and unclear. Whether it is a blessing or a curse my memories of my child hood and especially my mother are vague.

Lucyanne Swiney was her name and she was born in Eminence Missouri she was very fashion forward and never smiled in a photo. My mother’s mouth turned down when not smiling and she wore bright red lipstick. I know I got the love of yarn, reading, and carbohydrates from her. My children and I got our thick unruly hair from my mother and my bad choice in men. Lucyanne died at the age of 52 years old from bone cancer I was a freshman in high school. I believe my memory loss from my mother’s illness was a defensive mechanism but because of my sisters illness they seem to be IMG_0744

returning. When visiting my sister last the first thought that came to mind is she looks just like mom. My sister Jan is the one that nursed and took care of my mom and then allowed me to live with her the last two years of high school as she said to me it has come full circle. Memories are flooding back of my mother’s illness her trauma and how difficult it was to watch her die.

IMG_0742 The cool mint green that reminds me of her is comforting and makes me think of the days of home-made pies and Ice cream.  I took an old butcher block table that I was going to give away and decided to make a garden table. I have finished painting and Remi is helping me to complete it the darling stencils. I will post pictures of the table with plants when its finished. I find it amazing that a color can invoke such warm feelings and a smell such as the smell of cancer can be so devastating.IMG_0881

 I know life is a journey one that is unknown and can be so wonderful and exciting and difficult also.  I truly am not sure if I am capable to handle the things that are being dealt to me right now, I guess we will just have to wait and see but in the mean time I will continue to do as follows get on my knees every morning and night and be grateful for all my blessings.

From our home to yours,

~Henrietta’s Hippo

This entry was published on 30/05/2013 at 3:38 am. It’s filed under Color, Room Decor, Theme, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “My mama’s color & Shine on award

  1. You are in my thoughts! I am with you on being thankful for all of our blessings.

  2. Congratulations on your award.
    I’m sorry you’re having a difficult time.

  3. Congratulations! I love mint green too – but sadly it’s difficult for me to find something what goes together with this color.

Leave a Reply

